Sick of being sick

I feel like I’ve been sick for a good 8 weeks. After the rush of the holidays and all the bad food choices I made, my Crohns disease flared up. Not having a flare up in over 4 years I failed to recognize the signs and coughed it up to be a stomach bug. Ha! Not quite. So now they’ve upped my meds and still no success in controlling it.

I’m come to the realization that I need a steroid to get the flare up under control. I placed a call to my Crohns doctor on Monday, still no call back. While I don’t like the thought of taking the steroid I know it’s my only choice.

So what does all this mean? Well for one an increase in diet. The steroids always make me hungry. This will, of course, lead to an increase in weight. Mind you I finally shed those last 20lbs that have haunted me for years. But on the flip side, I’ll be able to leave my house without worrying about mapping out the restrooms along the way or if I’ll make it in time. See that’s the down side of Crohns – frequent need to use the bathroom.

To top things off I started with a sore throat over the weekend. The sore throat blossomed into a cold and chest pain. A visit to my physician proved I now have bronchitis, an ear infection and I’m dehydrated.

The up side you ask? The up side to all this is, if they finally prescribe the steroid I’ll have more energy and I’ll be able to finish some of those looming writing projects. Then I’ll be bouncing off the walls and my family will be wishing the doctor gave me something different. Heck, I’ll probably get around to cleaning out the freezer – something long overdue.

 

So, I’ll place yet another call to the doctor and hope they return my call. Maybe. Hopefully. In a few days I’ll be feeling better.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Regina Carlysle
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 18:53:35

    Oh honey! I’m so sorry about the Crohn’s flair up. This is such a debilitating thing. My sister in law suffers from this, too. Has for years. She’d had it under control for several years and recently had a problem that included going back on the steroids. Hope you get to feeling better.

    Reply

  2. amberskyze
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 14:16:42

    Thanks! Ten years ago when I was diagnosed it seemed no one spoke about it. Now it seems there’s someone who knows someone, living with this terrible disease. Nice to know there’s a support group out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

