Tickled pink and ready to be a grandmother

Six months ago when my then 18 year old daughter came to me and announced she was pregnant I thought I’d die. She’s too young. She has so much ahead of her to be tied down to a child. I could hardly yell, I married and had my first child at 19. But heck, I was too young to be a grandmother. The topper to this was I was seven weeks pregnant too.

I kept wondering how I would raise two babies at the same time, because my daughter has trouble with responsibility for anything – including herself. Surely, I would burden the load of my grandchild too. My husband argued that we would not assist, but I disregarded all his arguments. The bottom line was this was my grandchild; my first and I would never turn my back on a child.

Two weeks later what felt like a cruel twist of fate, I miscarried. It took me months of healing before I could accept my daughters bulging belly. She and the baby’s father tried including me in all aspects of the pregnancy, doctor’s visits, ultrasounds, you name it. The first ultrasound I went to – yes, I foolishly thought I was strong enough to endure. I ran from the room in tears. I stopped going to any visits, happy with updates when they returned.

Now as my daughter enters her seventh month I’m planning a baby shower and anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new granddaughter. When she brought home the ultrasound picture with the sex of the baby I knew a man must have been her technician. He highlighted the vagina and wrote “girl” over it. LOL. They’ve come a long way and they just might be okay. She’s blossomed into a young woman. Gone is that venomous teen, who I swore her head could spin. Yes, they’ll need guidance from both sets of grandparents, but they’ll figure it out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Regina Carlysle
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 15:36:31

    Awww, congrats! You’ll be a wonderful grandmother!

    Reply

  2. Madison Blake
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 15:47:56

    Congrats, Amber! All kinds of healing takes time, but I’m glad you’re going to have a granddaughter to spoil and love.

    Reply

  3. CD Yates
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 02:44:21

    Congrats, Amber.

    You know what they say. Everything happens for a reason. I’ve been there and I know how hard it is to lose a baby, even one you’re not expecting. Hugs and sympathy.

    Your granddaughter is a gift. Enjoy all those little pink outfits and tiny shoes. Post plenty of pics! Press your cheek to that fuzzy little head and realize she’s your opportunity to heal, grow and experience parenthood all over again–from a new perspective. 🙂

    All the best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

