On Baby Alert

My daughter is in labor. Not full active labor, but labor nonetheless. She complained of a lot of pressure yesterday, but no pain. My advice was to call her doctor, because on Friday she was 2 centimeters dilated at her weekly appointment. Oh and over the weekend she started losing her mucus plug. So her doctor told her to go to the hospital to be checked. She was now at 3 centimeters. They had her walk around, do exercises, anything to get to 4 centimeters – then they could keep her. Ummm, nope, not happening.  (Baby might just be as stubborn as her mother!) LOL

They sent her home with a prescription for a sleeping pill. They wanted her fully rested for when labor hit hard. What about me! I wanted to scream. What’s going to put me asleep? Because if you’re a mother than you know we never stop worrying about our children, not even when they’re about to give birth to their own children.

Needless to say I haven’t slept! What concerns me is this nagging feeling deep inside. See when I got pregnant with my first child I weighed 98lbs. I gained a total of 24lbs and had an 8.13lbs baby boy! (I’m no longer small) BUT I couldn’t deliver him naturally. I made numerous trips to the hospital before they would finally admit me and no matter what they did for me, I couldn’t dilate past 6 centimeters. Fast forward to my daughter – she weighed 110lbs and only gained about 15lbs ALL in the belly.

Is history repeating itself? I hope not. I hope she has a smooth delivery with no complications and no C-section. And I’m glad the baby waited because I was down and out with the flu or something for a few days and couldn’t be near my daughter. Now I’m feeling better and looking forward to being in the delivery room for my grandchild’s birth. Crazy as it sounds it will be the first time I get to witness a natural birth, if all goes well. I couldn’t deliver naturally for my other two children either.

Tomorrow my new book Splashing Good Time will be available from Ellora’s Cave. Hopefully I’ll be able to announce the birth along with the release!

P.S. I’m blogging over at Goddesses of Storytelling today and every month on the 14th. Stop by, check it out, leave a comment.

http://goddessesofstorytelling.blogspot.com/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. anny cook
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 18:33:56

    Congrats on your new release! And may you be a new grandma soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

