Eight to Date

48d96c9df4127That’s the number of contracts I’ve signed since December ’08. Am I bragging – NO. What I’m doing is telling everyone out there that if you want to be a writer and you work hard it’s possible. When I signed my first contract I had two others out to editor’s. My goal at that point was to have both contracted. By January’s end that happened. I set a new goal – eight contracted stories by the end of the year. At the time I thought it was totally unrealistic, but I like to dream big. I’m a writer after all.
In May I thought about upping that number, but I was slowing down a bit with writing and decided against it. As I just signed the eighth one on Monday I realize it’s time to change my goal. I’m now reaching for ten by the years end. Not impossible. But, I don’t want to set myself up to fail, this time. Not that I could call myself a failure at this point.
So if writing and publishing is your dream, grab a pen and paper, or open a word document on your computer and start writing. Write every day. Read all you can on the craft. Devour books in your genre, study publisher’s guidelines and no matter what you do -don’t give up. Is it easy? Not a chance. But it’s worth it when you see your book up for sale on a publishers web site. Just remember, Perseverance wins!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cerise DeLand
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 15:37:52

    You are so right that writing is for the dedicated and the determined! BUT it is primarily for that creative person who has stories to tell. Stories that inspire and comfort. Stories that WORK, internally. Stories that fill the brain of the writer–and never let go.
    SO that you just HAVE TO WRITE. Do not feel well if you don’t.
    KEEP GOING, GIRL! 8 since December did you say? Wunnerful
    AND BTW, love the guy here. slurp.
    CIAO!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

